Old Year/New Year

OLD YEAR

Work life:

2013 was a bit of a rollercoaster ride on the work front. It began pretty much as usual, but very quickly changes took place which challenged me professionally: I changed line manager, a long serving member of my team left, and I had to go through the recruitment process to replace her. Meanwhile, on top of all that, I took over responsibility for a project which brought its own stresses and strains. However, despite it all, the end of the year felt much stronger than the beginning. My new manager is amazingly supportive, my newly shaped team is one I continue to feel proud to manage and, along the way, my own skills have been challenged and developed. I even appeared in a marketing video for the product I helped launch! :

Personal life:

Well, if you’ve been reading this blog you’ll know that, early on in the year, I took up running. I began losing weight in 2012 and, although I had an exercise regime, I decided it wouldn’t hurt to add something else to the arsenal. My husband is a keen runner and, after he joked about the idea of getting me a pair of running shoes for my birthday, I let the thought fester and grow until, eventually, I decided it was actually a good idea and we headed for the running shop. Up until that point, running was something I just didn’t contemplate doing and didn’t feel the need to do. I broke in my new shoes by plodding round and round the local rec. Eventually, I felt good enough to take part in the local Parkrun and in the summer I ran the Race for Life. I’ve still no intention of entering “proper” races though….

In June 2012 I was 12 stone 2. In May 2013 (just before our holiday to Cyprus), I reached my goal of 9 stone and I’ve managed to maintain it since (even with the re-introduction of chocolate!) I’ve not been this weight for well over a decade and I’ve no intention of going back to the way I was! 2013 was the year I truly transformed myself and it’s been funny to see the reactions of people I’ve not seen for a while!! 🙂

2013 was also the year that I began to blog a lot more – mainly about my fitness and weight loss journey – however I’ll say more about that shortly…

As you may also know, I’m a bit of a Doctor Who fan and, of course, 2013 was a landmark year in the show’s history. 50 years of being in existence – the world’s longest running science fiction show! Going to the Doctor Who Prom, the Doctor Who Experience in Cardiff (visiting the real TARDIS set!), and attending a screening of the anniversary episode in a cinema full of like minded fans, were all wonderful experiences. Also great fun was taking part in two new projects with the Doctor Who Fan Orchestra (see my previous blog post to watch the latest release). I’ve made so many friends as part of the DWFO – some I’ve met, and some I only know online – but it’s always fun to play the pieces and later have fun putting a video together 😉

So, I finish 2013 as a much fitter, healthier and happier individual, with far more confidence and contentment that I’ve had in a very long time about the way I look!

NEW YEAR

Work life:

Well, first thing’s first – I’m hoping for a MUCH quieter year in 2014! Hopefully, there should be a new project in the offing, as well as continued work on existing ones. Other than that, I’m looking forward to seeing my team develop further and hoping that I too, can improve my own skills.

Personal life:

Now that my weight loss journey is over, I need to maintain where I’ve got to and justify all the hard work. As I said earlier, I started running in 2013 however, in 2014, I’d not only like to do more running (I’ve already entered the 2014 Race for Life), but would like to learn to truly enjoy it! I’ve really got a lot of work to do on my psychological relationship with running but I’m certainly not planning on binning the running shoes!!

2014 will also see my re-acquaintance with horse riding! My husband bought me some riding lessons for Christmas. I learnt to ride at secondary school but it’s been over a decade since I was last on a horse – mostly because I became too heavy (I now fit into my old jodhpurs)!! Meanwhile, I got a new Wii cardio fitness programme for Christmas which I’m looking forward to using, and some resistance bands which I’m also hoping will help me tone and build up my fitness even further.

Other than that, I’m looking forward to being involved in more DWFO projects and enjoying the first series of Doctor Who with Peter Capaldi!

Most of all I’m hoping to be able to blog more. I’m conscious of not having blogged regularly for a few months (for which I apologise), but I’m hoping I’ll find more things to say on a regular basis!!

Wherever you are and whatever you’re doing, I hope you all have a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2 thoughts on “Old Year/New Year

Leave a Reply

