BMI = “ideal”

I did an hour’s walk today. I hadn’t really planned to do it but I sometimes do a local leaflet round and a new batch had been delivered, so I decided to get it out of the way.

What I had planned to do was another Zumba session on the Wii. Knowing I was going to be doing it after walking for an hour, I had thought I’d do a short, 20min class. In the end, I felt bolder and did 40mins. It all felt good. 

Following all of that, I took the opportunity to log my weekly body test stats on the Wii Fit Plus.  I’ve been using it regularly since I began my weight loss regime last year and every time I’ve stepped on the balance board, it’s told me that my BMI has been in the “overweight” range, and then made a sort of musical comedy “fat person” noise (if that makes any sense).

So, imagine my astonishment when, the BMI-ometer goes up, it stops before the “overweight” range and I hear a new ‘tingly’ noise that says I’m “ideal”!

For the very first time EVER, the Wii Fit has determined that my weight and BMI has finally snuck into the “ideal” range (ie: under 25). Naturally I’m very pleased by this. I’ve still got several pounds to lose before I get to my target weight (9st), but it’s some extra unexpected encouragement and much needed. 

The other unexpected but lovely thing was, after all that was done, my husband came home from his run and brought me a bunch of flowers! 🙂

Right now, I feel very lucky 🙂

2 thoughts on “BMI = “ideal”

  1. I totally know the sound you are talking about. It’s like the woman in the wii fit board was not expecting something so heavy and you’re just waiting for her to say something like “Please step off fatty!”
    Good for you on your progress! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

