The End of an Era

This week I went to my last meeting as a school governor. It’s a role I’ve had for the past 4 years but as my full term was coming to an end, I decided it was finally time to step away and let someone else take my place. I was finding it harder to devote the proper time to my governor duties and felt it wasn’t fair to struggle on when I knew there were new people waiting in the wings. 

I’m not a teacher and I don’t have kids at the school (in fact, I’m not even a parent), so how did I get into all this? Well, a couple of my neighbours were parent governors and it was they who persuaded me to join as they needed new people – plus I’d told them of my previous experience as a school governor (and being chair of governors) at a primary school in south east London when I was in my mid-20s.

This time, I wasn’t in London, and I decided that it would be a good way to get to know more people in my local community and give something back. So, I became an “LEA” governor  – which doesn’t mean I had any extra authority, it was just the nominating mechanism by which I became a governor.

At the point that I joined, the school had just been through an OFSTED inspection and judged to be “outstanding”. I was grateful that the existing board members and the headteacher made me very welcome and then, within a month of joining, I was elected chair of a brand new sub-committee that was charged with managing relations with the local community as well as communications within the governing body. One of the first things we did (and an achievement I’m proud of), was to completely revamp the school’s website. 

I enjoyed the next 4 years. I made lots of friends and I feel that I made a positive contribution to the life of a very excellent school and it was a very rewarding experience. I wish I could have done more in lots of ways, but ultimately I knew that I wasn’t able to contribute at the level I might have wished. 

Nevertheless, I’m proud of having done it. I’m proud of the school and its staff, children and governors and I will continue to support the school in whatever way I can.

I’d certainly encourage others to be a school governor. Schools need YOU! So, if you’re interested in the idea of becoming one, check out the basic details here.

Get involved. Make a difference. Have fun!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

